Office of the Dean




William A. Cohen

Associate Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Studies

Dean Cohen oversees the Honors College, College Park Scholars, Letters and Sciences, Academic Achievement Programs, Orientation, Asian American Studies, Federal Fellows, Global Fellows in Washington, DC, Southern Leadership Management Program, Incentive Awards, Carillon Communities, Individual Studies, Air Force ROTC, Army ROTC, Naval ROTC, National Scholarships Office, First Year Book, Student Success Office, and Pre-College Programs. His office supervises the General Education program, learning outcomes assessment, living-learning programs, and campus advising policies. It supports the retention, graduation, and instructional needs of all undergraduate students.

Read more about Dean Cohen



Lawrence Clark's headshot

Lawrence M. Clark

Associate Dean
lmclark@umd.edu

Lisa Kiely's headshot

Lisa Kiely

Associate Dean and Undergraduate Student Ombudsperson
Lkiely@umd.edu

Doug Roberts' headshot

Douglas Roberts

Associate Dean for General Education
roberts@umd.edu

placeholder headshot

Cynthia Kay Stevens

Associate Dean
stevensc@umd.edu



Laura Cech headshot

Laura Cech

Associate Director of Communications
lcech@umd.edu

Testudo headshot

Jamie Hoots

Assistant Dean for Finance and Personnel
jhoots@umd.edu

Jacqueline M. Kautzer' headshot

Jacqueline Kautzer

Director of Administration and Equity Administrator
kautzer@umd.edu

Michelle Packer headshot

Michelle Packer

Chief Development Officer
mpacker2@umd.edu






Administrative Staff



Alyssa Berrios' headshot

Alyssa Berrios

Graduate Assistant
aberrio5@umd.edu

Melissa Del Rio's headshot

Melissa Del Rios

Associate Director for Carillon Communities
mdelrios@umd.edu

headshot placeholder

Fay Fan

Business Manager
fayer520@umd.edu

Marie Milligan's headshot

Marie Milligan

Executive Administrative Assistant
mmillig1@umd.edu



Samuel Sawyerr's headshot

Samuel Sawyerr

Business Services Specialist
ssawyerr@umd.edu

Dawn Simounet's headshot

Dawn Simounet

Program Manager for the Dean's Office
simounet@umd.edu




Program Directors


Jerry Lewis
Executive Director
Academic Achievement Program
Marie Mount Hall
jleelew@umd.edu

Janelle Wong
Director
Asian American Studies
Susquehanna Hall
juliepar@umd.edu

Colonel Steven J. Jantz
Director
Air Force ROTC
Reckord Armory
sjantz16@umd.edu


LTC Daniel Fass
Director
Army ROTC
Reckord Armory
dfass@umd.edu

Abby McEwen
Director
Carillon Communities
mcewen@umd.edu

Marilee Lindemann
Executive Director
College Park Scholars
Cumberland Hall
mlindema@umd.edu

Joan Burton
Director
Federal Fellows, Global Fellows
and Individual Studies Program
Marie Mount Hall
jburton1@umd.edu

Brady W. Rourke
Director
Gossett Student Athlete Center for
Academic and Personal Excellence
brourke@umd.edu

Peter Mallios
Executive Director
Honors College
Anne Arundel Hall
mallios@umd.edu


Jacqueline W. Lee
Director
C.D. Mote Jr. Incentive Awards Program
1103 Cole Student Activities Building
jwl@umd.edu

Eric Van Johnson
Assistant Dean and Director
Letters & Sciences
Hornbake Library
johnsone@umd.edu

Francis DuVinage
Director
National Scholarships Office and Maryland Center for Undergraduate Research
Marie Mount Hall
duvinage@umd.edu


Captain John Howrey
Director
Naval ROTC
Reckord Armory
jhowrey@umd.edu

Gerry Strumpf
Director
New Student Orientation Program
Cole Field House
gstrumpf@umd.edu

Georgette Hardy DeJesus
Executive Director
Pre-College Programs
Toll Physics Building
dejesus@umd.edu


Sara Herald
Director
Southern Management Leadership Program
Marie Mount Hall
sherald@umd.edu